Lausanne III, blogging in English

I’ve been asked to start blogging in English. I’m not sure I’m going to make it, but I thought it could be a good idea to start while being here in Cape Town for the Third Lausanne Congress on World Evangelisation.

Until now I’ve just spent my time sightseeing in the Cape area. What a wonderful Creator we’ve got that is willing to pour out such beauty on us. Standing on the top of the Table Mountain looking down on the West Cape I was reminded by my Congolese brother what a great God we have. ”He made all this!” he said over and over again. That’s good reminder for me who too often take the wonders of the creation so much for granted. But my Congolese brother is indeed right, God made all this. The third person of my mountain expedition was an American. He filled in with a short summarised exposition on Psalm 8: this is for the glory of His name. Indeed it is for the glory of his name, but I also think it is a sign of how much God loves us. He made all this for us to enjoy.

Someone said that the first (and the only?) question we will be asked by God when we enter into heaven will be: Did you enjoy my creation? Thoughtprovoking as that is I was really struck by it today on top of that mountain. The beauty of creation should fill me with awe for the greatness and glory of our God, as well as joy over his love to me.

2 svar

  1. The Westminster Shorter Catechism asks the question ”What is the chief and highest end of man?”

    … and expects the answer:
    ” Man’s chief and highest end is to glorify God, and fully to enjoy him forever.”

    Your post reminded me of this.

    All the best
    Graham

  2. Är inte så säker att jag gillar det engelska påfundet, men å andra sidan är det ju skoj att läsa ett Erik-inlägg igen!

Lämna en kommentar